Halliday Scores Maiden Superbike Win

Yamaha Racing Team with Yamaha Motorcycle Insurance’s (YRT with YMI) Cru Halliday has come up trumps at the third round of the Australian FX-IPONE Superbike Championship (AFX) at Sydney Motorsport Park by taking out both races.

After starting from pole position, Halliday held his teammate, Wayne Maxwell at bay by .400sec to win his first ever Superbike race that he later described as a “great feeling!”

The second race saw Halliday leading the early laps till he slipped down the order. He later came back towards the end of the race to finish second on track behind Team Honda Racing’s Jamie Stauffer, but won the race as Stauffer was handed a 15-second jump-start penalty.

It was a drag race to the line that saw Halliday beating the three times Australian Superbike champion, Glenn Allerton (YRT with YMI) by just .010sec.

“This is unreal,” beamed Halliday, who openly admitted that he was a little bit slow in race two as he was riding a bit conservative. “I came into this round not very confident after Mallala, but to be able to get the pole and two wins is simply amazing. I can’t say enough about the whole Yamaha Racing Team with Yamaha Motorcycle Insurance team. They have all worked flawlessly over the gap since round two.”

With a 4-2 result it was good enough to see Allerton claim second place, ten points behind Halliday. While Allerton was happy enough to get second place, he still is having a few issues with the settings on the Yamaha R1M. “The team are doing a great job in trying to solve my issue, and they are really just my issues, as I ride the Yamaha R1M a little bit different to Cru and Wayne,” said Allerton. “Overall, I’m happy. Of course I want to win, but tomorrow is the big day. It’s going to take a big effort to win tomorrow; I’m not kidding myself about that. I’m really going to have to put in the big yards tomorrow.”

Picking up the last step of the podium was Team Honda Racing’s Troy Herfoss who scored two third place finishes for the round.

While Herfoss was not over the moon about his third place finish, he does still top the championship standings heading into Queensland Raceway in August with a eight point advantage over Maxwell.

“I’m happy that I lead the championship,” said Herfoss. “We just have to keep getting through each round the best we can. Sydney Motorsport Park is a hard track for me. I’m doing my best to get a good result.”

Fourth place overall went to Maxwell, who also copped a 15-second jump-start penalty in race two.

“I made a stupid mistake by jumping the start and I apologize to the team for a mistake like that,” said Maxwell.

Rounding out the top five was Sean Condon (BikeBiz/IPONE/Swann Insurance Racing).

Condon was pleased enough with fifth place, but he definitely felt like that he could have been in the top three. However a jump start in race one put Condon on the back foot.

In the YRD Supersport class, Kawasaki Connection’s Rick Olson snared the surprised victory by stringing together a 5-1-1 result.

Coming into round three, Olson did have high hopes of winning; however after Friday’s practice and qualifying he was not thinking that a podium place was possible at all.

“I thought we could maybe get the Kawasaki Connection ZX6R setup for Sunday’s races.”

After finishing in fifth place I the opening race, Olson knew he was fast enough to run at the front and that he did.

Heading into tomorrow’s Swann Insurance Australasian Supersport round, Olson has a new set of tyres and his qualifying tyres which have only done three laps.

Brayden Elliott (Hankook Tyres/Royan Truck Repairs) regarded his day as pretty good as he and his team worked on some setup issues which he believes will help for Sunday’s ASC round.

“To be in the top three in all of the three races is really good,” said Elliott.

Championship leader Michael Blair (YRD/Blairbuild/Campbell Hardware) finished in third with a 1-4-5 result, but still tops the championship with a 14-point lead over Callum Spriggs (YRD/Allsite Concrete Cutting/Hydro Construction) who came home in fourth place overall with a solid 4-3-3 result.

Completing the top five was Mitch Levy (Warm & Safe Australia/YRD) who finished one point ahead of pole sitter man, Troy Guenther (Fresh Chef/PI Technical/Wallace).

Ben Henry (Cube Racing/Australian Outdoor Living) kept his winning performance going in the Race Tech Formula Oz class by winning race one and three. His only defeat came in race two when LTR Honda’s Paul Byrne beat him to the line by .419sec.

Third place went to Mitch Paynter. With Byrne finishing in second place, it sees Byrne and Paynter sitting on top of the championship with 171-points together, sixteen points clear of Simon Galloway.

LTR’s Samuel Davison tasted victory in the Kawasaki Insurances FX-300 Ninja Cup Class with a 4-1-1 result ahead of Victorian’s Ben White (Kelen Kawasaki) who managed a 3-2-3 result. Tony Jones (XXX Rated Suspension) joined them on the podium.

Other class winners included KTM Racing’s Angus Reekie in the Nakedbikes, Mario Gonzalez in the AMCN Pro-Twins and Glenn Birchall in the C & D Formula Xtreme class.

-          Russell Colvin

AFX-IPONE Superbike overall results:

1. Cru HALLIDAY 50
2. Glenn ALLERTON 40
3. Troy HERFOSS 40
4. Wayne MAXWELL 34
5. Sean CONDON 30
6. Mike JONES 30
7. Matthew WALTERS 29
8. Jamie STAUFFER 29
9. Ben BURKE 28
10. Beau BEATON 22


AFX-IPONE Superbike championship standings:

1. Troy HERFOSS 145
2. Wayne MAXWELL 137
3. Cru HALLIDAY 126
4. Glenn ALLERTON 121
5. Sean CONDON 119
6. Mike JONES 97
7. Ben BURKE 94
8. Jamie STAUFFER 94
9. Matthew WALTERS 80
10. Evan BYLES 63


YRD Supersport overall results:

1. Rick OLSON 66
2. Brayden ELLIOTT 64
3. Michael BLAIR 59
4. Callum SPRIGGS 58
5. Mitch LEVY 49
6. Troy GUENTHER 48
7. Brad SWALLOW 40
8. Michael KNIGHT 36
9. Ben BLYTH 34
10. Luke MITCHELL 29

YRD Supersport championship standings:

1. Michael BLAIR 200
2. Callum SPRIGGS 186
3. Brayden ELLIOTT 184
4. Mitch LEVY 138
5. Jay PRESEPIO 121
6. Troy GUENTHER 115
7. Rick OLSON 109
8. Kyle BUCKLEY 100
9. Brad SWALLOW 97
10. Michael KNIGHT 95


Race Tech Formula Oz overall results:

1. Ben HENRY 72
2. Paul BYRNE 69
3. Mitch PAYNTER 60
4. Simon GALLOWAY 54
5. Neil HARDWICK 44
6. Albie WHEELER 43
7. Jason IVKOVIC 38
8. Steve McLEOD 32
9. Kieran HURRELL 30
10. Jason EACOTT 29


Race Tech Formula Oz championship standings:

1. Paul BYRNE 171
2. Mitch PAYNTER 171
3. Simon GALLOWAY 155
4. Ben HENRY 142
5. Jason IVKOVIC 110
6. Damian SUTTON 95
7. Liam WILKINSON 83
8. Brett KITCHIN 78
9. Kieran HURRELL 76
10. Phil LOVETT 69


Kawasaki Insurances FX300 Ninja Cup overall results:

1. Samuel DAVISON 682. Ben WHITE 62
3. Tony JONES 51
4. Robbie MENZIES 50
5. Mitch KAVNEY 42
6. Hunter FORD 39
7. Luke BURGESS 37
8. Shane YOKOM 35
9. Jason MARTIN 34
10. Stuart GREEN 28

Kawasaki Insurances  FX300 Ninja Cup championship standings:


1. Ben WHITE 168
2. Luke BURGESS 154
3. Samuel DAVISON 143
4. Tony JONES 102
5. Jack DAWES 100
6. Jason MARTIN 81
7. Hunter FORD 79
8. Robbie MENZIES 78
9. Stuart GREEN 74
10. Shane YOKOM 69



v2.10 © 2017 Promoto Media Pty Ltd.