2018 Calendar Announced.


2018 Australian FX-Superbike Championship Plus NSW & Qld State Based Series Calendars Announced

2018 will see a further revamping of the FX based series to provide privateer competitors with more choice and three possible series options to choose from depending on each competitor’s available spare time to go racing and at what level they want to compete at. A lot of planning has gone into providing the most affordable options for competitors. There will be six major FX based race meetings run in 2018 across two states. Two in NSW and four in Queensland, two selected rounds from each States own series will make up the four-round interstate Australian FX-Superbike Championship Series. There will be a number of relevant and important announcements relating to the AFXC in the early new year, please stay tuned.

Series One: Australian FX-Superbike Championship:
2018 sees a return to the AFXC as the premier series which will be run over four rounds, again though limited to two States. Why two States? The majority of Australia’s road racers reside in either New South Wales or Queensland and with the cost of doing large multiple State series all over the country sky rocketing we have once again decided to focus on keeping costs down and making it easy and financially sustainable for privateer competitors to go racing at championship level against other privateers in the two States where most who compete in the FX based series actually live in.
Rnd 1. 9-11 March Sydney Motorsport Park Raceway 3.9 km GP Circuit
Rnd 2. 28-29 April Queensland Raceway
Rnd 3. 21-23 September Lakeside Raceway* (TBC)
Rnd 4. 23-25 November Sydney Motorsport Park Raceway 3.9 km GP Circuit
*Once circuit upgrades are confirmed at Lakeside in the early new year this date will be confirmed, if the work isn’t able to be scheduled in time then this round will be transferred to Qld Raceway.

Series Two: NSW Formula Xtreme Road Racing Championship:
For competitors wanting to just compete in New South Wales next year there will be a two round ‘NSW FXRRC Championship Series’ both rounds will be run at Sydney Motorsport Park Raceway and both NSW FXRRC rounds will also be the season opener and season finale for the premier Australian FX-Superbike Championship.
9-11 March. Sydney Motorsport Park Raceway 3.9 km GP circuit
23-25 November. Sydney Motorsport Park Raceway 3.9 km GP circuit

Series Three: Queensland Dunlop Super Series:
The four round Queensland based ‘Dunlop Super Series’. Like the NSW FXRRC the Queensland series is aimed at competitors who want to stay in Queensland. Two of the rounds will see a return to the legendary Lakeside Raceway which is located just 20 minutes north of Brisbane Airport. Please note that both rounds are marked as TBC, reason being is the owners of the circuit are looking at a number of circuit upgrades to be done and providing the improvements are done in time or not will decide whether the Lakeside rounds will be transferred to Queensland Raceway or stay at Lakeside.
28-29 April Queensland Raceway
16-17 June Lakeside Raceway* (TBC)
11-12 August Queensland Raceway
21-23 September Lakeside Raceway*(TBC)

The classes in all three series will basically stay the same as was run in 2017 and has been previously announced to keep the costs down and provide a level playing field there will be a number of classes with Dunlop control tyres. At this stage there will be no major changes to the technical rules other than a few minor updates. Entry fees will stay the same as in 2017. One important announcement that we would like to make at this time is for Western Australian riders who have not been able to race in their home state for over twelve months. To assist resident riders who live in WA we will provide free entry fee’s for the AFXC series rounds. Further series announcements will be made in the new year so please stay tuned. For those who have questions please feel free to contact me by email at toneill@aus-superbikes.com.au

Terry O’Neill

v2.10 © 2017 Promoto Media Pty Ltd.